Deutsch <-> English

About us
Spin offs
Address / Location



Seminar and Skiing Week
Traude Tour
Sola Relay Race
Parties with Tutors


This page gives you a little impression of some of our activities which complement research and education.

Click at the pictures to enlarge.

Follow the hyperlinks for more detailed reports (some are only in German).


Seminar and Skiing Week

Once a year the Center of Mechanics is having its traditional seminar and skiing week. The daily sports activities include skiing, skiing tours, cross-country skiing, snowboarding, hiking, etc. In the evenings, we have discussions and seminarsor we just enjoy the night life.

Ivo Leibacher and Tobias Brack were responsible for the perfect organization in Laax.

Georg Rempfler and Philipp Hahn did a perfect job in organizing the seminar week 2012 in Grindelwald.

Wilfried Bürzle and Simon Eugster were the organizers of the 2011 seminar week in Pettneu (Austria).

Johannes Hengstler and Thomas Schwarz organized a perfect seminar week 2010 in Partenen (Austria). We had a chance to visit the very impressive pumped storage plant of the Illwerke.

Many thanks to Christian Maier and Andreas Schifferle for organizing the seminar week 2009 in Zermatt.

The seminar week 2008 in Arosa was organized perfectly by Felix Hildebrand and Niels Quack.

Many thanks to Laurent Aebi and Marc Hollenstein for organizing a wonderful seminar week in Verbier!

The seminar week in 2006 brought us to Fiescheralp, a beautiful place above Fiesch with a wonderful view.

Nothing but good news from the seminar week 2005 at Lenzerheide. In the days before, the long-awaited snow arrived. And during the week, we had lots of sun and fun.


The seminar week 2004 took place in Crans-Montana. As usual, the weather, the food, the discussions and the high spirits were great.



The main prize of the traditional skiing race is the ZSK Cup.

Ivo Leibacher is the winner in 2013.

In 2012, Thomas Schwarz won the ZSK Cup for his second time.

Jeanine Fuchs won the cup in 2011.

Wilfried Bürzle is the winner of the ZSK Cup 2010.

Here are Thomas Schwarz, winner of the ZSK Cup 2009, and Chiara Cambruzzi, the best lady.

2008, in Arosa, the ZSK Cup was won by the multitalent and camp organizer Niels Quack. This picture shows him taking a well-deserved break.

Sandro Dinser won the ZSK inferno race 2007 in Verbier.

In 2006, Davide Valtorta won the ZSK Cup a second time.


Traude Tour

Our marvelous secretary Traude Junker had a special anniversary in 2001. That was the occasion for a hiking tour.

The wonderful event is repeated yearly and now has its own web site.


Sola Relay Race

Our team for the Sola relay race is called MechaWalk.


Parties with Tutors

The wonderful roof terrace of the CLA building invites for barbecue parties.

This picture was taken very late at night.

For the Christmas party, we prefer to be in our seminar room.


08/05/14 | Stephan Kaufmann | ZfM | ETH